Teachers, classified staff, retirees & scholarship winners honored at Dinner of Excellence

On April 23, the Milford Miami Township Chamber of Commerce presented the annual Dinner of Excellence, honoring Milford-area teachers, classified staff, retirees and scholarship winners.  The program was sponsored by Turner Construction, SHP Leading Design, Lykins Energy Solutions, National Bank & Trust, Donohoo, Cupp & Associates, Kroger, Park National Bank, and Texas Roadhouse, as well as Miami Township & the City of Milford.

The staff of each school within a district chooses a teacher to honor as their Educator of the Year, and a classified staff member as their Classified Staff of the Year.  The following were Milford EVSD’s winners for this year:

Educators of the Year

  • Boyd E. Smith Elementary:  April Cooper
  • McCormick Elementary:  Kristen Gibson
  • Meadowview Elementary:  Chris Fisher
  • Mulberry Elementary:  Heather Dingus
  • Pattison Elementary:  Kate Clarisey
  • Seipelt Elementary:  Tina Taylor
  • Milford Junior HS:  Chris Leonard
  • Milford HS:  Janelle Schunk

Classified Staff of the Year


  • Boyd E. Smith Elementary:  Jan Wulker
  • McCormick Elementary:  Susan Moore
  • Meadowview Elementary:  Wendy Coots
  • Mulberry Elementary:  Jennie Kasselman
  • Pattison Elementary:  Kathy Barrows
  • Seipelt Elementary:  Tina Taylor
  • Milford Junior HS:  Mary J. Richardson
  • Milford HS:  Ed Beverly


  • Barbara Alderman, MHS, 19 years
  • Diane Buckley, Mulberry, 19 years
  • Larry Evans, Mulberry, 30 years
  • Amelia Harding, MJHS, 11 years
  • Donna Huxell, MHS, 19 years
  • Adelaida Lapid, MJHS, 6 years
  • Joseph Montag, MHS, 9 years
  • Georgia Owens, MHS, 10 years
  • Charles (David) Parker, MHS, 6 years
  • Carolyn Schiesler, Board of Education, 24 years
  • Michael Soard, Pattison, 37 years
  • Paul Schrameck, MJHS, 26 years
  • Mary (Molly) Wakeham, MHS, 28 years

Six scholarships are also awarded, four from the Milford/Miami Area Chamber of Commerce; one from the Greater Milford Historical Society/Promont, and one from the Milford Schools Foundation:

Milford/Miami Area Chamber of Commerce

  • The Mary Ann Partin Scholarship:  $1000 to an outstanding graduating senior who exemplifies a high level of achievement:  Meggan Dingus
  • Frontier Days Scholarship:  $500 to recognize and award an individual who excels in academics and takes time to volunteer and give back:  Caroline Hester
  • Milford/Miami Township Chamber of Commerce Scholarship:  $500 to a graduating senior interested in a business degree:  Alex Jofriet
  • Herbie Schell Scholarship:  $500 for a graduating senior interested in education or business:  Elizabeth Sanchez

Greater Milford Historical Society/Promont Scholarship:  $500 to a graduating senior looking to pursue the study of history, historical preservation, world cultures, social studies and other related fields:  Emily Kruse

Milford Schools Foundation Scholarship (The Boyd E. Smith Scholarship):  $5,000 for academic achievement, community service, and financial need:  Corbin Hooker

It is wonderful to have our local business community honor excellence in our schools.  Thank you, Milford Miami Township Chamber and event sponsors, for supporting education and educators!






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s