Highlights from 4/20/17 school board meeting

Perfect audit, increased credit rating, millions saved for taxpayers
Homestead Exemption provides tax relief to seniors
Business Advisory Council seeking members
Ohio charter school funding questions continue
“13 Reasons Why” is difficult on many levels
Athletic Update

Extracurricular Update

Here are the highlights from the 4/20/17 school board meeting:

  • A first draft of the 2018-19 school year calendar was presented at public hearing. We would like to get back to having calendars approved two years out so staff and families can plan. If you have comments/input, please contact Superintendent Nancy House or myself.
  • The Milford/Miami Township Drug Free Coalition provided an update of events; here are just a few. On May 8, 7-8:30 pm, at the Miami Township Civic Center, a photojournalism project on the heroin epidemic, conducted in conjunction with MHS art teacher Janelle Schunk, will be presented. On April 10, they presented an annual event, “Parents Who Host Lose the Most” at the high school. This event focused on the legal ramifications and health risks of underage drinking, including providing alcohol to other people’s children. Tomorrow, Saturday, April 29, they will host a medication take-back program in conjunction with the county from 10 am to 2 pm. In our area, people may drop off their unused medication to the Miami Township Police Department, 5900 McPicken Drive, or the Milford Wal-Mart, 201 Chamber Drive. NOTE: It is important to keep prescription drugs that are not being used out of harm’s way. The easiest way to do that is to drop off the unused medication to a local drop box – which can be done any time, not just on medication take-back days. For a list of drop box locations, click here.
  • Ten MHS students will represent Ohio DECA, the Great Oaks marketing program offered at the high school, at the International Career Development Conference. They are: Tyler Campbell, Jeremiah Dentino, Ben Gerding, Tori Gilman, Aiden Kelly, Lindsey Lawson, Amna Rustom, Limo Rustom, Emily Perrin, AJ Turner. Congratulations to you all!
  • Eight MHS students who participate in the Teaching Professions Academy qualified for the National Competition of Future Educators of America. They are: Taylor Caldwell, Micayla King, Colleen Schumacher, Kate Schaeffer, Madalyn Ridge, Morgan Whitaker, Rachel Vonderhaar, Shaila Peterson. Congratulations to you all!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s